How I Became Interested in Scientific Art

I was exposed to scientific art in the same way that many people are- through the illustrations in educational children’s books. I spent countless hours getting lost in colorful and informative books (mostly about animals). I was exposed to even more examples throughout my school years. Natural history museums were another place in which I saw lots of educational art. The paintings, sculpture, and taxidermy there, in a sense, can breathe life back into the the dead. I remember many a time where I stood in awe surrounded by all sorts of creatures, big and small, extinct and extant. These experiences undoubtedly played a huge role in inspiring me as a child.

dinosaurs_eason
One of my favorite childhood books (and a brilliant reference for creating exciting paleo-scenes). By Sarah Eason, Illustrated by James Field. Image from amazon.com, no infringement intended (Fair Use for educational purposes).
A the careful work of a scientific artist lets us stand face-to-face once again with a Neanderthal cousin. Photo by Photaro, CC BY-SA 3.0.

This inspiration persists into my adulthood. I study the natural sciences and fine arts in college (they’ve always been my biggest passions), so it’s no big surprise that I became interested the field of scientific art. I realized that all the artwork that helped me learn over the years had to be created by someone- and I imagined how great it would be if that someone was me. Even though I do not want to be a teacher, I know that I want to contribute to education. If I could someday mix my favorite disciplines together to do it, that would be the dream.

2 thoughts on “How I Became Interested in Scientific Art

  1. What has been your most favorite natural history museum to visit? I also always loved them as a kid, and still do. 🙂 The weirdest one I have been to is the Southern Vermont Natural History Museum.

    Like

    1. I’d have to say my favorite is the American Museum of Natural History in NYC. It is just amazing. I’ve never been to the Vermont one- I’ll have to check it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

